All right stop! Collaborate and listen (Sharing Points)

April 4, 2006

VMWare vs VPC

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephenmuller @ 3:26 am

For the last week I have been increasingly frustrated with the performance of MS VPC. I buddy of mine (Bill Williamson who refuses to do a technical blog) kept on saying to use VMWare. Well I down loaded a free viewer from the VMWare site corrupted one VPC disk (my stupid fault) and used another (backed it up this time) and the performance was good. So I hassled my office and got a copy of VMWare 5.5 that will also import VPC files.

 I converted one and well I dont know how I used to use VPC the difference was unbelieveable just like using the desktop (or laptop). I was so blown away then Bill showed me some more features like the drag and drop from the host to the guest……….an the snapshots look very cool and I think I will make better use of it. 

Here is a site that shows another nifty use of snapshots.

http://blog.dreamprojections.com/archive/2005/04/26/828.aspx

 And I agree with him.

There are some funnies but a bit of stuffing arouund to convert VPc to VMware  there was one which i had to dig for. The problem arises when it tries to locate a driver.cab

 The solution is here

http://geekswithblogs.net/pag/archive/2005/09/28/55382.aspx 

Moral of the story…if you use VPC's and dont want to muck around fine tuning and stuff BUY VMWARE 5.5 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

